## A brief history of the evolution of the NRNA NCC of USA.

In 2003, when the formation of NRNA was conceived in London, Mr. Sharda Thapa and Mr. Raja Upadhyaya from the US were present at that eventful meeting representing the US. Dr. Kunjar Sharma from Canada was also present there.

In 2003 October, when NRNA was officially founded in Nepal and the first NRNA global conference was held in Kathmandu, US was represented healthily. The US representatives included Mr. Sharda Thapa, and Dr. Shyam Karki, who became the regional VP for the Americas, and Mr. Sharda Thapa became ICC member.

At the 2005 Global Conference in Kathmandu, Mr. Sharda Thapa from the US became the VP for the Americas. Mr. Ramakant Kharel, Mukesh Singh and Mr. Narayan Shrestha became the ICC members from the US.

In 2006, NRNA ICC leaders asked the Nepalese Americas Council (NAC) to act as the NRNA National Coordination Council for US and Canada. NAC was established in 1991 with an aim to provide a common and coordinating platform for the many community organizations in the US and Canada. NAC created a NRN Cell within its fold, which officially acted as the NCC for the US and Canada. Dr. Jeet Joshi was the president of NAC from 2005 to 2007, and he and other leaders organized a joint NRNA-NCC meeting in San Bernardino in January 2007, where community leaders from North America and NRNA ICC leaders including Dr. Upendra Mahato, Mr. Bhim Udas and Ms. Ranjana Udas attended. As the newly elected NAC President for 2007-2009, I also attended the meeting.

I was the president of NAC from 2007 to 2009, and at that time, we strengthened the NRN Cell within NAC by appointing Mr. Suman Timsina and Mr. Ratan Jha as the two co-chairs. In 2008, a separate NRNA NCC was formed in Canada. That year, NAC revised its by-laws to express that NAC will act as the US NCC. As the president of the NAC (US NCC), I led the US delegation to the 2007 global convention in Kathmandu. Mr. Naresh Koirala from Canada and Mr. Rajendra Shrestha from the US became the Regional Coordinator (RC) and Deputy Regional Coordinator (DRC) for the Americas. Dr. Gaury Adhikary, Ms. Amrit Tuladhar and Mr. Mohan Thapa from the US became the ICC Member. Mr. Sagar Onta from the US became the ICC youth coordinator.

In 2009, Dr. Tara Niraula became the NAC president, but he had to resign early due to personal reasons. Mr. Suman Timsina became the president of NAC in April 2009. A large contingent went to the NRNA Global Conference 2009 in Kathmandu under Mr. Timsina's leadership. For 2009-11, I was elected the Regional Coordinator for the Americas, and Dr. Drona Rasali (from Canada) was elected the Deputy regional Coordinator for our region. Mr. Rajendra Shrestha and Mr. Sonam Lama became the ICC members from the US. Mr. Ratan Jha from the US was elected the General Secretary for 2009-11. In 2010, NRNA Regional Conference was held in Houston, Texas.

In June 2010, NAC changed its name to the National Coordination Council of USA, and utilized the same registration it had at the office of Secretary of State Tennessee. Please see the link here for the details. The name change was done to make the US NCC's name consistent with the names of other NCCs.

In 2011, another large US delegation participated in the NRNA Global Conference in Kathmandu. Mr. Mukesh Singh and Mr. Ram Kharel, both from the US, were elected the RC and DRC respectively for the Americas. Mr. Bhuwani Gurung, Mr. Sonam Lama, Mr. Temba Sherpa and Mr. Aditya Maharjan became the ICC members from the US. I and Mr. Ratan Jha were appointed advisors to the ICC.

In 2013, a large US delegation attended the NRNA Global Conference in Kathmandu. Mr. Naba Gurung (Canada) and Mr. Sonam Lama from the US were appointed RC and DRC respectively. I was appointed a member of ICC Patron Council. The US had six ICC members: Mr. AC Sherpa, Dr. Binod Shah, Dr. Bishnumaya Pariyar, Mr. Nabin Sherchan, Mr. Raja Ghale and Mr. Rajendra Siwakoti.

In 2015, Mr. Sonam Lama and Mr. AC Sherpa both from the US were elected as the RC and DRC respectively. Mr. Ratan Jha was appointed ICC advisor, and Mr. Bishnu Dheurali, Mr. Chhiring Lama, Mr. Dil Shrestha, Dr. Binod Shah, Mr. Khagendra GC, Mr. Nabin Sherchan, Mr. Narayan Gurng and Ms. Sunita Sharma were elected to become ICC members.

After 2011, the activities of the NCC of USA have become much more pronounced, as the membership and interest in NRNA grew widely. The US NCC and ICC websites provides detailed information on the NCC activities.